Engadin St. Moritz

 

In the summer of 2018 we accompanied the initial communication around the new dynamic pricing model of the Engadin St. Moritz Mountain Pool. For the 2018 winter season, the Upper Engadine introduced a pricing model for ski passes that is unique in the Alpine region. The so-called snow deal is primarily directed towards online and early bookers. We were able to support the tourism region and the Upper Engadine mountain railways with strategic communication around the new pricing model. Before the launch, we implemented various PR measures, a media event and several content productions. This enabled us to gently introduce the media to the innovation. As a result, the newly introduced Snow Deal attracted widespread coverage.

Launch of Snow-Deal with content productions

Complex pricing models are often difficult for consumers to understand. Since such texts about technical details are not very reader-friendly, our favorite approach came into play: Storytelling! Around the launch of the Snow-Deal we planned and implemented two content productions, which explained the advantages of the new pricing model in a simple way: 

  1. Since many people can better absorb and process visually prepared information, we had an explanatory video produced for the start of the 2018 season. The animated video explains the advantages and how the model works in a simple and straightforward way.
  2. In addition to the first, abstract explanation, we produced a “real life” example. In the second content production, we deliberately built a wink into the storyline so that consumers associate the price model with positive emotions. We created a classic everyday situation: a mother wants to go skiing with her adult son and book ski tickets early on to save money – the mother discovers the snow deal. The young man, however, has no idea how to find out about the new price model and, unlike his mummy, books his ticket only on the spot – for a higher price, of course: “Well, it’s better to book Mommy’s tickets!“

PR-Stunt Snow-Dealer

With the start of the 2019 winter season, the snow deal had to be brought to the attention of those consumers for whom winter was still a long time away. Therefore we planned a unique PR stunt including content production. For this we reached into our storytelling box of tricks and turned the Snow-Deal into the Snow-Dealer. As such, we hired the Swiss comedian Kiko, who caused a sensation in the city of Zurich: He asked pedestrians in public if they wanted to buy snow from him, because he would have the best deal. Of course, the goods on offer were real snow from the Engadin – but not everyone understood that immediately. We recorded the funny reactions with the help of hidden cameras. After the exclusive 20-minute release, the video was shared like crazy and aired on the TV show Tele Top-Talk.

Engadin St. Moritz

 

Wir begleiteten im Sommer 2018 die Erstkommunikation rund um das neue dynamische Preismodell des Engadin St. Moritz Mountain Pool. Auf die Wintersaison 2018 führte das Oberengadin ein im Alpenraum einzigartiges Preismodell für die Skipässe ein. Der sogenannte Snow-Deal richtet sich vor allem an Online- und Frühbucher. Wir durften die Tourismusregion und die Oberengadiner Bergbahnen in der strategischen Kommunikation rund um das neue Preismodell unterstützen. Im Vorfeld der Lancierung setzten wir diverse PR-Massnahmen, einen Medienevent sowie mehrere Content Produktionen um. Auf diese Weise konnten wir die Medien sanft an die Neuerung heranführen. Als Resultat winkte eine entsprechend breite Berichterstattung über den neu eingeführten Snow-Deal.

Lancierung Snow-Deal mit Content Produktionen

Komplexe Preismodelle sind für Konsumenten oft schwer zu begreifen. Da derlei Texte über technische Details nicht sehr lesefreundlich sind, kam unser Lieblings-Ansatz zum Zug: Storytelling! Rund um die Lancierung des Snow-Deal planten und setzten wir daher zwei Content Produktionen um, welche die Vorteile des neuen Preismodells einfach erklärten:

  1. Da viele Menschen visuell aufbereitete Informationen besser aufnehmen und verarbeiten können, liessen wir zum Saisonstart 2018 ein Erklärvideo produzieren. Das animierte Video erklärt die Vorteile und die Funktionsweise des Modells einfach und unkompliziert.
  2. Zusätzlich zur ersten, abstrakten Erklärung, produzierten wir ein “real life”-Beispiel. Bei der zweiten Content Produktion bauten wir bewusst ein Augenzwinkern in die Storyline ein, damit Konsumenten das Preismodell mit positiven Emotionen verknüpfen. Kreiert haben wir eine klassische Alltagssituation: Eine Mutter möchte mit ihrem erwachsenen Sohn Skifahren gehen und frühzeitig Skitickets buchen, um zu Sparen – die Mutter entdeckt den Snow-Deal. Der junge Herr hat allerdings keinen Kopf dafür, sich über das neue Preismodell zu informieren und bucht im Gegensatz zu seinem Mami sein Ticket erst vor Ort – natürlich für einen höheren Preis: “Tja, s’nögscht mal besser ufs Mami lose!”

PR-Stunt Snow-Dealer

Zum Start der Wintersaison 2019 galt es dann, den Snow-Deal frühzeitig in das Gedächtnis derjenigen Konsumenten zu rufen, für die der Winter noch in weiter Ferne lag. Deshalb setzten wir erneut auf die Erfolgskombo PR-Stunt und Content Produktion für Engadin St. Moritz. Hierfür griffen wir in unsere Storytelling-Trickkiste und machten aus dem Snow-Deal den Snow-Dealer. Als solchen engagierten wir den Schweizer Comedian Kiko, der in der Stadt Zürich für Aufsehen sorgte: Er fragte die Passanten in aller Öffentlichkeit, ob sie bei ihm Schnee kaufen wollen, denn er hätte den besten Deal. Natürlich handelte es sich beim angebotenen Gut um echten Schnee aus dem Engadin – das verstanden aber nicht gleich alle. Die lustigen Reaktionen hielten wir mithilfe von versteckten Kameras fest. Nach der exklusiven Veröffentlichung auf 20 Minuten wurde das Video wie verrückt geteilt um in der TV-Sendung Tele Top-Talk ausgestrahlt.