Club 8848

 

On behalf of the Diavolezza Lagalb AG and Pontresina Tourism, we designed and realised a world of experience at an altitude of almost 3,000 metres in 2018: With the relaunch of the legendary Club 8848, formerly 8847, in the Upper Engadine we brought a piece of Graubünden history back to life.

The club was founded in the seventies on the initiative of the former Lagalb AG mountain railway. The aim of the club was to attract more skiers to the mountain. The club once had over 1,000 members, including the then Canadian Prime Minister and the Shah of Persia. Due to a lack of initiators, the club fell into oblivion in the eighties. About 40 years later, we helped to bring it back to life.

Logo creation

Our agency is responsible for the creation of a customized adventure world in the valley and mountain station. Of course, this also includes the visual appearance of the newly launched Club 8848. The corporate design had to be completely redesigned for the fresh appearance of the club, so that it also fits into the existing CI/CD of the fabulous mountain world.

Club 8848 Logo

Adventure world on the mountain

For the unique Customer Journey during the Challenge we conceived design elements and a brand identity for the entire infrastructure and signalling elements in the Lagalb ski area. For this we relied heavily on storytelling. Suitable for adrenalin-hungry action fans, we underlined the challenge on the mountain with climbing ropes, summit flags, certificates and matching merchandise.

Challenger auf der Lagalb (C) Federico Sette
A challenger on the Lagalb. © Federico Sette

 

Launch Event

Just in time for the opening of the season at the end of December 2018, we presented the structural changes on the Lagalb to the public with an event. We supported the client in event management in order to celebrate the new launch of the club. For this event, we organized a light show by the well-known Swiss light artist Gerry Hofstetter. We also accompanied the launch with various PR measures. We used the in-house produced photo and video content for the media work. As a result, we succeeded in placing Club 8848 in national and international media.

Club 8848

 

Im Auftrag der Diavolezza Lagalb AG und Pontresina Tourismus konzipierten und realisierten wir 2018 eine Erlebniswelt auf knapp 3’000 Metern Höhe: Mit der Neulancierung des legendären Club 8848, vormals 8847, im Oberengadin erweckten wir ein Stück Bündner Geschichte wieder zum Leben. Nebst der Logo Kreation übernahmen wir auch die Massnahmen rund um den actionreichen Launch-Event in der Tourismusregion Oberengadin.

Entstanden ist der Club in den Siebziger Jahren auf Initiative der ehemaligen Bergbahn Lagalb AG. Ziel des Clubs war, mehr Skifahrer auf den Berg zu locken. Der Club zählte einst über 1’000 Mitglieder, darunter der damalige kanadische Premierminister und der Schah von Persien. Aufgrund von fehlenden Initianten geriet der Club in den Achtzigern in Vergessenheit. Rund 40 Jahre später, halfen wir dabei, ihn wieder zum Leben zu erwecken.

Logo-Kreation

Unsere Agentur ist verantwortlich für die Kreation einer massgeschneiderten Erlebniswelt in der Tal- und Bergstation. Hierzu zählt natürlich auch der visuelle Auftritt des neu lancierten Club 8848. Das Corporate Design musste für den frischen Auftritt des Clubs komplett neu entworfen werden, damit es sich auch in das bestehende CI/CD der fabelhaften Bergwelt einfügt. 

Logo Kreation für den Club 8848

Brand Identity: Erlebniswelt am Berg

Für die einzigartige Customer Journey während der Challenge konzipierten wir Designelemente und eine Brand Identity für die gesamte Infrastruktur und Signaletik-Elemente im Skigebiet der Lagalb. Hierfür setzten wir stark auf Storytelling. Passend zu adrenalinhungrigen Actionsfans unterstrichen wir die Challenge am Berg mit Kletterseilen, Gipfel-Fahnen, Urkunden und passendem Merchandise.

Die Brand Identity für den Event zeigte sich in allen Signaletik-Elementen.
Ein Challenger auf der Lagalb.(c) Federico Sette

 

Launch-Event

Pünktlich zur Saisoneröffnung Ende Dezember 2018 präsentierten wir mit einem Event die baulichen Veränderungen auf der Lagalb der Öffentlichkeit. Wir unterstützten den Kunden im Eventmanagement, um die Neulancierung des Clubs gebührend zu feiern. Hierfür organisierten wir unter anderem eine Lichtshow des bekannten Schweizer Lichtkünstlers Gerry Hofstetter. Ausserdem begleiteten wir die Lancierung mit verschiedenen PR-Massnahmen. Den eigens produzierten Foto- und Video-Content nutzen wir für die Medienarbeit. So ist es uns gelungen, den Club 8848 in nationalen und internationalen Medien zu platzieren.